The state of Florida is called the Sunshine State. But it is also famous for its violent tropical storms and hurricanes. As a homeowner, it makes very little difference to you whether your home was damaged by a storm or by a hurricane. You will want to know how much you can salvage. And how much repairs will cost, regardless of the technicalities. For a hurricane damage adjuster, there is a difference, and a big one. Hurricanes and storms fall under different types of coverage. And if you do not file the right type of claim, you most certainly will get denied.
In this article, we will explain how these two potentially catastrophic events are different and the type of insurance coverage you must have in order to file a successful claim.
What Are the Differences between a Storm and a Hurricane?
According to Florida Statutes 627.4025, a windstorm is defined as:
- Wind (including wind gusts)
A hurricane, on the other hand, must be declared as such by the National Hurricane Center (NHC) of the National Weather Service. Also, the official duration of the hurricane ends 72 hours after the last official warning issued for any part of the state of Florida by the NHC.
Filing the Right Type of Claim Is Essential
Over time, many homeowners have hired hurricane damage adjusters after their initial claim was denied. Upon closer inspection, the public adjusters found out that the wrong type of claim was filed.
As we have explained in the past, insurance companies are looking for any little loophole or error they can latch onto and deny your claim. For hurricane claims, they are even more aggressive in rejecting policyholders’ applications. Another contributing factor is that many people attempt to file a hurricane claim even though they’ve only purchased the standard homeowners’ insurance policy.
You Must Hold Separate Coverage for Hurricane Damage
In hurricane prone states, homeowners need to purchase separate coverage for hurricane damages. Moreover, insurance companies will stop selling this additional type of coverage once there’s a hurricane watch. This means 48 hours before the expected onset of the weather event.
For this reason, hurricane damage adjusters urge all Floridians to check the type of insurance coverage they hold before the beginning of hurricane season. If you do not have hurricane coverage, you should purchase it before your insurer cuts it off.
Even if you have adequate coverage, we advise you to contact us as soon as you need to file a claim. We can help you prepare it correctly. And we will negotiate on your behalf. This will reduce your wait time and maximize your recovery.